Attend AAAM’s Virtual Awards Ceremony

Thursday, October 21, 2021
5:15 – 6:15 PM EST

Celebrate your road safety peers during AAAM’s virtual Awards Ceremony, taking place during our 65th Annual Scientific Conference. This one-hour event is free and open to all. Even if you are unable to join us for the full conference, you are encouraged to attend and show your support for the individuals who have gone above and beyond to assist AAAM and advance road safety for all. Pre-registration is required. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the celebration.

Register for the Awards Ceremony

2021 Award Recipients

Elaine Wodzin Young Achiever Award

Anuj Pradhan, MS, PhD

This award is named for Elaine Wodzin, a long-serving executive director of AAAM, who had the innate ability to recognize the future of the organization through the efforts of young professionals. The award is given to a younger (<45 years) member of AAAM for a singular specific achievement in automotive medicine or other contributions to the field of traffic injury control. The achievement could be (but is not limited to) the publication of a seminal research work, practical implementation of an injury control concept, or promotion of an element of public injury control policy.

AJ Mirkin Service Award

Kathy Cookman, BS, CSTR, CAISS, EMT-P, FMNP
Waqar Malik, MBBS, MPH, CAISS

The AJ Mirkin Service Award is given to AAAM members who have made continuous service contributions through committee, faculty and project involvement.

Award of Merit

Gary Smith, MD, DrPH

This award is given to an outstanding individual who has made significant scientific contributions to an aspect of automotive medicine over many years or for a single outstanding contribution.

Donald F. Huelke Lifetime Membership Award

Uwe Meissner, MS

This award recognizes, honors, and acknowledges an individual who has made outstanding contributions and provided repeated volunteer services to the AAAM organization by maintaining membership for over 15 years, having served on committees or as an officer of the Board, organized seminars (or served as faculty) or symposia, recruited 10 or more new AAAM members, contributed to the endowment fund, and received another AAAM award.