AAAM would like to thank everyone who participated in making this year’s conference a success. We had an overwhelmingly positive response and this is due to your contributions.

Our world-renowned speakers, engaged mentors, and enthusiastic students are at the forefront of our road to traffic safety.

We also would like to thank our outstanding sponsors for their support with this year’s conference.





Thank you to our Keynote Speakers

Michiel van Ratingen, PhD, PDEng, Msc Secretary General, European New Car Assessment Programme – For Safer Cars New Frontiers in Vehicle Safety: From Vehicle Crashworthiness to Automation

Shawn Marshall, MD, MSc, FRCPC Specialist, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and full Professor and Division Head of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the University of Ottawa, Canada, and the Ottawa Hospital Candrive Prospective Older Driver Study: Progress towards the development of an Older Driver Risk Stratification Tool

The Honorable T. Bella Dinh-Zarr, PhD, MPH, Board Member, National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) | Before, During, and After the Crash: Advancing Safety at the NTSB has provided a link to her remarks at the conference on the NTSB Website.

For more on the speakers and to view the 2017 Annual Conference agenda, click here.

Conference Notes:

  • This was an inaugural meeting with revised abstract acceptance process that increased the chances for abstract writers to get on the podium, while raising the bar for publication in Traffic Injury Prevention
  • 32 papers accepted for podium presentation, they will be available on the website February 2018
  • 12 Short Communications
  • 39% of all presentations from international attendees
  • 22 new members
  • We organized Monday’s lunch around Special Interest Group topics. We had a very popular and lively conversation! Keep an eye out for the roll-out of AAAM’s SIGs in 2018. This will be a way for members to engage in topics important to them all year round. Our special interest group topics include:

    Policy and AAAM Position Statements

    Road Safety in Low- and Middle-Income Countries

    Aging Road Users

    Vulnerable Road Users (e.g. pedestrians, cyclists, motorcyclists)

    Child Passenger Safety

    Teen Drivers

    Autonomous Vehicles



    Distracted Driving

If you missed out on the student awards presentation, we have the winners listed below:

Student Symposium Best Presentation Sponsored by Nissan Motor Company, Ltd.

Winner: Carolyn Roberts, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA

Injury and Response Characteristics of the 5th Percentile Female Lower Extremity Under Axial Loading

John D. States Student Award presented to the best student presentation at the  AAAM 61st Annual Conference Sponsored by Collaborative Safety Research Center Toyota

Winner: Xin Ye, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, NC

Numerical Investigation of Driver Lower Extremity Injuries in Finite Element Frontal Crash Reconstruction

Honorable Mentions

Gretchen Baker, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden

Kinematics and Shoulder Belt Engagement of Children on Belt-Positioning Boosters During Evasive Steering Maneuvers

Megan Bland BS, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA

Differences in the Protective Capabilities of Bicycle Helmets in Real-World and Standard-Specified Impact Scenarios

We look forward to doing this all again next year! Join us in Nashville at the AAAM’s 62nd Annual Scientific Conference, October 7 – 10, 2018. Be on the lookout for more conference related information as we move closer to the event.

We are excepting full-length paper abstracts now! Please get your submissions in by February 1.